MBAs Second in International Tech Strategy Business Case Competition

April 9, 2008

An MBA team earned second in an international tech strategy business case competition. The team — including Jason Dean, Marc Nichol, Sumit Goyal and Varun Parmar (all MBA ’09) — won a $15,000 award.

The 24-hour case analysis invitational featured eight international teams and eight U.S. teams reputed to be among the best in combined technological and business savvy. Ericsson’s sponsorship of the competition is in support of what the company calls “digital natives,” the generation that has grown up in the online, digital world.

The challenge for the MBA students was to build a case for a comprehensive solution for the telecom industry. Specifically, they were provided a real market challenge facing a leading Ericsson telecom customer (Vodafone) in the fast evolving world of multimedia –where technology, content and services come together in an all-communicating mobile and Internet-enabled environment.

The first place team from Stanford was awarded the top prize of $25,000. The third place finishers were from London Business School, and they shared a $5,000 prize. Hans Vestberg, executive vice president and CFO, Ericsson, presented the award to the winning students.

Stephen Newman, program director for Executive Development at Ericsson, said “Our team of judges was not disappointed. Because these students are truly global citizens and were raised digitally during the explosion of mobile and Internet technologies, we couldn’t have worked with a more influential group of young people who will shape the future of our industry.”

The remaining 12 teams that took part in the competition were:

  • Boston University School of Management
  • EGADE Tecnologico de Monterrey, Mexico
  • Eller College of Management at the University of Arizona
  • Harvard Business School
  • Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • IESE Business School at the University of Navarra, Spain
  • Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta
  • Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University
  • Queen’s School of Business, Ontario, Canada
  • Seoul National University, Korea
  • Sloan School of Management
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (the 2007 winners)
  • Stockholm School of Economics