Skip to main content

Office of the Vice Provost for Global Affairs

The Office of the Vice Provost for Global Affairs (OVPGA) has primary responsibility for shaping and implementing the University’s global strategy while supporting global activity across campus. Units that report to the vice provost for global affairs include Global Research Institute, International Student and Scholar Services and Duke-UNC Rotary Peace Center.

General inquiries for the Office of the Vice Provost for Global Affairs can be sent to GlobalAffairs@unc.edu.

OVPGA Leadership


Headshot of Barbara Stephenson. Photo by Kristen Chavez.

Barbara J. Stephenson

Vice Provost for Global Affairs and Chief Global Officer

barbara.stephenson@unc.edu
+1.919.962.3608

Head shot of Heather Ward

Heather Ward

Associate Provost for Global Affairs

heather.ward@unc.edu
+1.919.962.1051

Head shot of a female

Jill Wilhelm

Executive Assistant to the Vice Provost for Global Affairs

jill.wilhelm@unc.edu
+1.919.962.3608

OVPGA Staff

Global Development


Head shot of Daniel Lebold

Daniel Lebold

Director

daniel.lebold@unc.edu
+1.919.962.6865


Photo of Katie McKenna

Katie McKenna

Associate Director

kmckenna@unc.edu
+1.919.843.5287


Caroline Evans

Assistant Director

caroline.evans@unc.edu
+1.919.962.1705


Global Education


Headshot of Sharmila Udyavar.

Sharmila Udyavar

Associate Director for Global Education

sharmila_udyavar@unc.edu
+1.919.962.4504


Head shot of Emmy Grace

Emmy Grace

Program Manager for Global Education

emmy.grace@unc.edu
+1.919.962.0318


Global Partnerships


Headshot of Krista Northup

Krista Northup

Director of Global Partnerships

knorthup@unc.edu
+1.415.810.3084


Headshot of Melissa

Melissa McMurray

Associate Director of Global Partnerships

melissa_mcmurray@unc.edu
+1.919.537.3675


Global Travel


Kim Priebe

Associate Director for Global Travel

kim.priebe@unc.edu
+1.919.962.6857


Impact, Strategy & Communications


Katie Costanza

Associate Director for Strategy & Impact

katierc@unc.edu
+1.919.843.7546


Headshot of Rawan Abbasi, outdoors.

Rawan Abbasi

Communications Manager

rawan-abbasi@unc.edu
+1.919.442.8134


Unified Business Cluster


Portrait of Martha Martin

Martha Martin

Director of Finance and Human Resources

martha_martin@unc.edu
+1.919.962.5373



Head shot of Yelena Mirzoyan

Yelena Mirzoyan

Accounts Manager

mirzoyan@email.unc.edu
+1.919.843.3577

Head shot of Galina Zilberter

Galina Zilberter

Accountant

zilbert@email.unc.edu
+1.919.962.6864

OVPGA Units

International Student & Scholar Services

Global Research Institute

Duke-UNC Rotary Peace Center